Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Welcome to LibGuides
Research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by your friendly librarians. Know what we know - find it in LibGuides!

Browse All Guides   |
  Search: 
 
 

Library Hours

Regular Hours

Monday-Thursday 7:30 AM-10:00 PM
Friday 7:30 AM-8:00 PM
Saturday 9:00 AM-4:00 PM
Sunday Closed

 

Thanksgiving Break Hours 

November 27-30

Thursday-Sunday Closed

 

 

 

Contact Reference Desk

Triton College Library
2000 Fifth Avenue, A-200
River Grove, IL 60171
(708) 456-0300 x3698 or x3154
 

Guides

Show: Featured  |  Popular  |  Recent  |  All
Loading
 

Library Events

"Spotlight Series" workshops:

September 2014

09-30-14 from 12:45-1:45 PM in E-210W Easing Students into Academic Sources with Google: Workshop for Faculty Are your students whizzes at Google but a bit more apprehensive about searching library databases? Join Hilary Meyer, Reference Librarian, to discover how students can start their research using Advanced Search techniques in Google and Google Scholar. Instead of simply imposing library databases on them, we can carefully guide them along the path to research enlightenment.

October 2014

10-02-14 from 10-11 AM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One This session is designed to help students learn how to conduct research using library resources in house and online. Students can bring their assignments and receive individual help in how to develop a search strategy, choose the best online databases, how to use information that they find, and how to cite the sources. No registration required. Please walk in.

10-06-14 from 10-11 AM in A-213 Kindergarten Story Time Librarians will introduce Child Development Center students to the wonders of libraries. We will be reading selected favorites​ from the Library's engaging juvenile collection. 

TBD from 12-1 PM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One Learn how to create a search strategy and use library resources for research. Joint workshop with the ASC’s Writing Zone.

10-13-14 from 12-1 PM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One This session is designed to help students learn how to conduct research using library resources in house and online. Students can bring their assignments and receive individual help in how to develop a search strategy, choose the best online databases, how to use information that they find, and how to cite the sources. No registration required. Please walk in.

10-17-14 from 12-1 PM in A-213 How to Access and Read eBooks Make the most of Triton’s eBooks Collection by learning how to access thousands of books through our library catalog, CREDO, EBSCO, and other databases.

10-21-14 from 1 PM in CTE E-210 Teaching Circle: Copyright from the Faculty Perspective Copyright has been the hobgoblin of teachers since the invention of the mimeograph. Although copyright is at times confusing and vague, there are general principles that, if followed, can keep the educator from crossing the line. In this teaching circle we will look at the Constitutional basis for copyright as well as its implementation in the U.S. Code and discuss its impact upon teaching in the twenty-first century.

10-21-14 from 6-7 PM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One This session is designed to help students learn how to conduct research using library resources in house and online. Students can bring their assignments and receive individual help in how to develop a search strategy, choose the best online databases, how to use information that they find, and how to cite the sources. No pre-registration required. Please walk in.

10-22-14 from 12-1 PM in A-215 Using Google for Class Assignments Learn how to use Google and Google Scholar to find relevant and acceptable academic sources for research papers and beyond.

10-29-14 from 1-2 PM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One  This session is designed to help students learn how to conduct research using library resources in house and online. Students can bring their assignments and receive individual help in how to develop a search strategy, choose the best online databases, how to use information that they find, and how to cite the sources. No pre-registration required. Please walk in.

November 2014

11-05-14 from 12-1 PM in A-215 Successfully Navigating Wikipedia  Wikipedia is free and easy, but it is not an acceptable source for class assignments. At the end of this workshop you will better understand what Wikipedia is all about and how to use it effectively.

11-06-14 from 12-1 PM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One This session is designed to help students learn how to conduct research using library resources in house and online. Students can bring their assignments and receive individual help in how to develop a search strategy, choose the best online databases, how to use information that they find, and how to cite the sources. No pre-registration required. Please walk in.

11-08-14 from 12-3 PM in A-321 Robotics at the Library Children are invited to come to the Library to participate in a supervised robot-building activity. The activity will begin at 12 and continue through until approximately 3 pm. No preregistration is required, but space is limited. Please join in the Fun!

TBA from 1-2 PM in A-321 Calligraphy and Illumination Demonstration Society for Creative Anachronism members will demonstrate the fine art of calligraphy that was developed in ancient societies and continues to be practiced today.

TBA in A-215 Computer Fundamentals Q&A Workshop for RSVP Members This workshop will cover basic computer skills such as using Microsoft Office software, searching in Google, and setting up email and social media accounts. The Q&A format allows for audience members to get their specific questions answered.

11-12-13 at 12 PM in A-321 Veterans Day: A Celebration Cosponsored with Counseling and VETs4Vets Celebrate Veterans Day by attending a special event to recognize the service of veterans.

11-14-14 from 11 AM-12 PM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One This session is designed to help students learn how to conduct research using library resources in house and online. Students can bring their assignments and receive individual help in how to develop a search strategy, choose the best online databases, how to use information that they find, and how to cite the sources. No pre-registration required. Please walk in.

11-17-14 from 12-1 PM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One This session is designed to help students learn how to conduct research using library resources in house and online. Students can bring their assignments and receive individual help in how to develop a search strategy, choose the best online databases, how to use information that they find, and how to cite the sources. No pre-registration required. Please walk in.

11-25-14 from 6-7 PM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One This session is designed to help students learn how to conduct research using library resources in house and online. Students can bring their assignments and receive individual help in how to develop a search strategy, choose the best online databases, how to use information that they find, and how to cite the sources. No pre-registration required. Please walk in.

December 2014

12-01-14 through 12-08-14 in A-200 Triton Library Annual Library Book Sale The Library will be selling used books to the public during the regular hours that the library is open. Proceeds will go into the Library Foundation account. Some proceeds will be used to fund scholarships at Triton College.

12-02-14 from 6-7 PM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One This session is designed to help students learn how to conduct research using library resources in house and online. Students can bring their assignments and receive individual help in how to develop a search strategy, choose the best online databases, how to use information that they find, and how to cite the sources. No pre-registration required. Please walk in.

12-10-14 from 1-2 PM in A-213 Research Consultation: One on One This session is designed to help students learn how to conduct research using library resources in house and online. Students can bring their assignments and receive individual help in how to develop a search strategy, choose the best online databases, how to use information that they find, and how to cite the sources. No pre-registration required. Please walk in.

Call the Library Reference Desk at (708) 456-0300, Ext. 3698 for further information. Reservations not required.

     

    Description

    Loading