This is the "Home" page of the "Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives   Tags: archives, local history, reference  

New information about the Triton College Library Archive Holdings, Mission, and Policies. Updated biweekly. The content on this libguide was originally created by Reference & Archives Librarian Mary Grace Maloney 2012-2014.
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.triton.edu/archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Archive Hours and Location

Fall 2014

For Fall 2014, the Archives will be open for appointments only on the days listed below. If you require immediate assistance, or need to make a special appointment, please contact Faculty Librarian, Dr. Robert Connor, ext.3770, robertconnor@triton.edu.

The Archives are located in Room A327, on the third floor of the Library

Monday, 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

Tuesday, 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Additionally, the Archives will be open on the following dates.

Monday, September 8, 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

Monday, September 15, 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

 

Archives Catalog

* Please note: We highly recommend viewing the Triton College Archives database (available below) before scheduling an appointment.

The content on this libguide was initially created by PT Reference & Archives Librarian, Mary Grace Maloney, 2013-2014.

Contact + Information

Welcome to the library guide to Triton College Library's Archives!

If you would like to schedule an appointment to visit OR if you have a request, please contact our interim Archives Librarian:

Robert Kowalczyk, MLIS
708-456-0300 x3406
robertkowalczyk@triton.edu

  • American Memory
    American Memory is a riveting collection of primary documents digitized by the Library of Congress. "It provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning." (Source: Library of Congress, American Memory Web site, accessed 4/4/2013)
  • ArchiveGrid
    Provides access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives.
  • Chicago Tribune Database
    Available via Triton College's ProQuest subscription, the Chicago Tribune Database provides comprehensive coverage from the present to 1985. "Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so your patrons have access to not only top news stories, but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format." (Source: ProQuest LLC, 2013)
  • Chicago Tribune Historical Archives
    Available through Triton College's subscription to NewsBack, the Chicago Tribune Historical Archives provides "images and full text of historical, local, regional, national, international issues and events including: major wars, prohibition, Chicago gangsters, the Great Depression, inventions, sports, and the arts from the Chicago Tribune Morgue clippings file. Extensive front page coverage." (Source: NewsBank, 2013)
  • Chicago Tribune Microfilm
    Digital microfilm of historical copies of the Chicago Tribune, available here through ProQuest. Must have specific dates to search this database. Remember, "microfilm" is an old-fashioned technology that still has value in today's digital world because it provides what we could compare to the visual information available in a PDF document or scanned document of the actual newspapers, instead of just the full text.

What Are Archives?

Not sure what an archive is? Harper College provides a wonderful description and explanation of what an archive is, and how to utilize its holdings.

Interim Archives Librarian

Profile Image
Robert Kowalczyk
Contact Info
robertkowalczyk@triton.edu
Send Email

Archives vs Libraries

"To answer the question, you first have to know the difference between an archives and a library (if getting a room full of archivists riled up is not enough and you want to actually drive them into an old fashioned-lather, say that archives are the same as libraries)... Archives, by their very nature, contain unique items. As such, one of an archivist's key duties is to safeguard and preserve them. That means mitigating the disaster caused by great grubby unwashed pawing through lovely, pristine records."  -- Via the Hairpin, "Ask and Archivist" May 7, 2012

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip