This is the "Home" page of the "McNaughton Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

McNaughton Collection  

Take a look at best sellers and graphic novels not found in Triton's College Catalog.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2015 URL: http://libguides.triton.edu/McNaughton Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The McNaughton Collection

The McNaughton Collection is a changing collection of the current best-sellers and graphic novels that are not searchable in Triton's online catalog. The collection is located by the Juvenile section with a sign that says "Recreational Reading." These books may be checked out for four weeks and are on a first come, first serve basis. They are arranged alphabetically by title on the shelves, but you can search them online either by title or author. The Graphic Novel collection can be found on the magazine tower near the main Graphic Novels Collection behind the Reference Desk.

 

New McNaughton Graphic Novels

Cover Art
American Vampire volume 7 - Snyder, Scott
Publication Date: 2015
When we last saw Pearl in the 1950s, she had lost her love Henry in an attack on the vampire hunting organization, V.M.S., by a coven of Hollywood vampires that nearly wiped the organization off the face of the planet. Devastated and alone, Pearl is determained to leave California and all its painful memories behind.
When we meet Pearl again, it is in 1960s Kansas, an era fraught with fear of nuclear war, angry demonstrations, and vast social change. What has changed in the years since the V.M.S. attack and where is Skinner Sweet?

Cover Art
Batman: Arkham origins - Beechen, Adam
Publication Date: 2014
In the video game Batman: Arkham Origins, Black Mask orders a hit on the Dark Knight and assassins from all across Gotham City answer the call. Batman must defeat the likes of Deathstroke, Bane, The Joker, Copperhead and others while trying to find out what Black Mask is up to.
Based on the hit video game, this volume is presented in multi-path comic format, allowing the reader to make critical choices throughout this interactive adventure. Included in this volume are chapters #1-14.

Cover Art
DC Comics, Zero Year (The New 52) - Snyder, Scott
Publication Date: 2014
Six years ago, the legend of Batman emerged amid the greatest catastrophe Gotham had ever endured. A maniac calling himself The Riddler shut down all electric power mere days before a terrifying superstorm. But the Dark Knight isn't the only hero to surface during this moment in time known only as the ZERO YEAR!
Journey back to the Zero Year to see the early tales of heroes and heroines such as Nightwing, Green Arrow, Batgirl, Superman, Birds of Prey, Catwoman and more!

Cover Art
Fatherland: a family history - Bunjevac, Nina
Publication Date: 2015
Through exquisite and haunting black-and-white art, Nina Bunjevac documents the immediate circumstances surrounding her father's death and provides a sweeping account of the former Yugoslovia under Fascism and Communism, telling an unforgettable true story of how the scars of history are borne by family and nation alike.

Cover Art
Here - McGuire, Richard
Publication Date: 2015
From one of the great comic innovators, the long-awaited fulfillment of a pioneering comic vision. Richard McGuire’s Here is the story of a corner of a room and of the events that have occurred in that space over the course of hundreds of thousands of years.

Cover Art
Second Avenue caper - Brabner, Joyce
Publication Date: 2014
Struggling to understand the disease and how they could help, they made a deal with a bona fide goodfella, donned masterful disguises, piled into an “A-Team” van, and set off for the border, determined to save their bedridden friends by smuggling an experimental drug into the United States from Mexico.
With their community in crisis and the world turned against them, this impassioned gang of misfits never gave up hope as they searched for ways to raise awareness and beat the plague. Fast-paced, poignant, and beautifully illustrated by the award-winning illustrator Mark Zingarelli, Second Avenue Caper is a heartfelt tribute to the generation that faced down AIDS.

Cover Art
Superman Earth One volume 3 - Straczynski, J. Michael
Publication Date: 2015
SUPERMAN: EARTH ONE VOL. 3 follows a young Clark Kent as he continues his journey toward becoming the World's Greatest Super Hero. After defeating villains terrestrial and beyond, Superman faces a threat that he can't simply outmuscle. A threat smarter, more cunning and deadly than he can imagine: the Luthors!

Cover Art
Superman Unchained, Deluxe ed. - Snyder, Scott
Publication Date: 2014
From the skies above Metropolis to the four corners of the globe to the star-streaked spaceways beyond, one man is synonymous with the word "hero." Since his arrival marked the dawn of the superhero age, Superman has waged a never-ending battle for truth and justice, no matter when or where.
But before the dawn came the darkness. When another with incredible power, far more than that of mortal man, fell to the Earth. One who could spell the end for the Man of Steel.

Cover Art
Superman volume 5: Under fire - Lobdell, Scott
Publication Date: 2015
In the wake of the Psi War, Lois Lane lies in a deep coma, unable to speak, but her new found powers allow her to astral project in times of need. It is just this power that brings the power hungry creature Parasite to Metropolis in search of Lois.
Is there anything The Man of Steel can do, or will he lose his best friend?

Cover Art
Underground - Vachss, Andrew H.
Publication Date: 2014
When there is no longer any reliable source of "news," there is nothing to trust . . . and "The Terror" descends. For decades, The Rulers have been at work, using prisoner/slave labor to construct Underground, believing that all those who flee there will trade their freedom for security. Now, "truth" is what the Rulers say it is, and The Rulers rule all. But even within this antiseptically evil world, a revolution is brewing. A new breed of journalists--known as "The Book Boys"--risk everything to graffiti the truth on Underground's pristine walls.

Cover Art
Wake - Snyder, Scott
Publication Date: 2014
When Marine Biologist Lee Archer is approached by the Department of Homeland Security for help with a new threat, she declines, but quickly realizes they won't take no for an answer. Soon she is plunging to the depths of the Arctic Circle to a secret, underwater oilrig filled with roughnecks and scientists on the brink of an incredible discovery. But when things go horribly wrong, this scientific safe haven will turn into a house of horrors at the bottom of the ocean!

 

March 2015: New McNaughton Books!

Cover Art
Being mortal - Gawande, Atul
Publication Date: 2014
Gawande, a practicing surgeon, addresses his profession's ultimate limitation, arguing that quality of life is the desired goal for patients and families. Gawande offers examples of freer, more socially fulfilling models for assisting the infirm and dependent elderly, and he explores the varieties of hospice care to demonstrate that a person's last weeks or months may be rich and dignified.
Full of eye-opening research and riveting storytelling, Being Mortal asserts that medicine can comfort and enhance our experience even to the end, providing not only a good life but also a good end.

Cover Art
Boy with the hidden name: Otherworld book two - Dorset, Skylar
Publication Date: 2014
Betrayal and death—not quite the prophecy Selkie wanted about her first love. A half-faerie princess with a price on her head, Selkie Stewart just wants a little normal in her life. Not another crazy prophecy. Besides, she and Ben are a team. They're the two most wanted individuals in the Otherworld, and fated to bring down the Seelie Fairie Court and put an end to their reign of terror. Nothing can come between them. Until Ben leaves. And the sun goes out.And the chiming bells deafen all of Boston.
The Seelies are coming. And only Selkie can stop them from destroying the world.

Cover Art
Cipher - Ford, John C.
Publication Date: 2015
You think your emails are private?
Your credit card number is secure?
That stock trades, government secrets, and nuclear codes are safe?
...th1nk aga1n.

Cover Art
Cold cold heart - Hoag, Tami
Publication Date: 2015
Dana Nolan was a promising young TV reporter until a notorious serial killer tried to add her to his list of victims. Nearly a year has passed since surviving her ordeal, but the physical, emotional, and psychological scars run deep. Struggling with the torment of post-traumatic stress syndrome, plagued by flashbacks and nightmares as dark as the heart of a killer, Dana returns to her hometown in an attempt to begin to put her life back together. But home doesn’t provide the comfort she expects.

Cover Art
Delicious! - Reichl, Ruth
Publication Date: 2014
Billie Breslin has traveled far from her home in California to take a job at Delicious!, New York’s most iconic food magazine. Away from her family, particularly her older sister, Genie, Billie feels like a fish out of water—until she is welcomed by the magazine’s colorful staff. She is also seduced by the vibrant downtown food scene, especially by Fontanari’s, the famous Italian food shop where she works on weekends. Then Delicious! is abruptly shut down, but Billie agrees to stay on in the empty office, maintaining the hotline for reader complaints in order to pay her bills.

Cover Art
Descent - Johnston, Tim
Publication Date: 2015
The Rocky Mountains have cast their spell over the Courtlands, a young family from the plains taking a last summer vacation before their daughter begins college. For eighteen-year-old Caitlin, the mountains loom as the ultimate test of her runner’s heart, while her parents hope that so much beauty, so much grandeur, will somehow repair a damaged marriage. But when Caitlin and her younger brother, Sean, go out for an early morning run and only Sean returns, the mountains become as terrifying as they are majestic, as suddenly this family find themselves living the kind of nightmare they’ve only read about in headlines or seen on TV.

Cover Art
Don't give up, don't give in - Zamperini, Louis, and David Rensin
Publication Date: 2014
American hero Louis Zamperini shares his wisdom, values, lessons, secrets, and other insights gleaned from his remarkable experiences in this powerful and inspiring book.

Cover Art
Dove arising (Dove Chronicles) - Bao, Karen
Publication Date: 2015
Phaet Theta has lived her whole life in a colony on the Moon. She’s barely spoken since her father died in an accident nine years ago. She cultivates the plants in Greenhouse 22, lets her best friend talk for her, and stays off the government’s radar.
Then her mother is arrested.

Cover Art
Empire [book two, the Chronicles of the Invaders] - Connolly, John, and Jennifer Ridyard
Publication Date: 2015
She is the trophy of a civilization at war with itself.
He is its rebel captive.
Separated by millions of light years, they will fight to be united…
Earth has been conquered and occupied. The war is lost.
The Resistance still fights the invaders, but they are nothing more than an annoyance to the Illyri, an alien race of superior technology and military strength.

When caught, the young rebels are conscripted. Part soldiers, part hostages, they join the Brigades, sent to fight at the edges of the growing Illyri Empire.

Cover Art
Fairest: the Lunar Chronicles - Levana's story - Meyer, Marissa
Publication Date: 2015
Mirror, mirror, on the wall.
Who is the Fairest of them all?
Pure evil has a name, hides behind a mask of deceit, and uses her "glamour" to gain power. But who is Queen Levana? Long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress in The Lunar Chronicles, Levana lived a very different story--a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Cover Art
Forgotten girls - Blaedel, Sara
Publication Date: 2015
The body of an unidentified woman was discovered in a local forest. A large, unique scar on one side of her face should have made the identification easy, but nobody has reported her missing. As the new commander of the Missing Persons Department, Louise risks involving the media by releasing a photo of the victim, hoping to find someone who knew her.
Louise's gamble pays off: an older woman phones to say that she recognizes the woman as Lisemette, a child she once cared for in the state mental institution many years ago. Lisemette, like the other children in the institution, was abandoned by her family and branded a "forgotten girl." But Louise soon discovers something more disturbing: Lisemette had a twin, and both girls were issued death certificates more than thirty years ago.

Cover Art
Girl on the train - Hawkins, Paula
Publication Date: 2015
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.
And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

Cover Art
Girl who never was: Otherworld book one - Dorset, Skylar
"Today is my birthday."
In Selkie's family, you don't celebrate birthdays. You don't talk about birthdays. And you never, ever reveal your birth date."
Until now.
The instant Selkie blurts out the truth to Ben in the middle of Boston Common, her whole world shatters.
Because her life has been nothing but a lie—an elaborate enchantment meant to conceal the truth: Selkie is a half-faerie princess.
And her mother wants her dead.

Cover Art
Guantanamo diary - Slahi, Mohamedou Ould.
Publication Date: 2015
Three years into his captivity Slahi began a diary, recounting his life before he disappeared into U.S. custody, "his endless world tour" of imprisonment and interrogation, and his daily life as a Guantánamo prisoner. His diary is not merely a vivid record of a miscarriage of justice, but a deeply personal memoir---terrifying, darkly humorous, and surprisingly gracious. Published now for the first time, GUANTÁNAMO DIARY is a document of immense historical importance and a riveting and profoundly revealing read.

Cover Art
How to be a husband - Dowling, Tim
Publication Date: 2015
This is not a self-help book. Tim Dowling doesn’t have any solid advice for you on how to be a man—he tried hard to become one for a while, but in the end he just got older. This is simply the story of how, in the course of ten bewilderingly short years, Dowling went from a bachelor’s life in New York City to becoming an ex-pat in London, solidly married and the father of three young boys. It’s also an examination of what it means to be a husband in the twenty-first century—and what is and isn’t required to hold that office these days.

Cover Art
Hunger of the wolf - Marche, Stephen
Publication Date: 2015
Hunters found his body naked in the snow…
So begins this bold and breathtakingly ambitious new novel from Stephen Marche, the provocative Esquire columnist and regular contributor to The Atlantic whose last work of fiction was described by the New York Times Book Review as “maybe the most exciting mash-up of literary genres since David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas.” In The Hunger of the Wolf, Marche delivers a modern morality tale about the rapacity of global capitalism that manages to ask the most important questions we face about what it means to live in the new Gilded Age.

Cover Art
Irritable hearts: a PTSD love story - McClelland, Mac
Publication Date: 2015
"I had nightmares, flashbacks. I dissociated... Changes in self-perception and hallucinations-those are some of my other symptoms. You are poison, I chanted silently to myself. And your poison is contagious."
So begins Mac McClelland's powerful, unforgettable memoir, Irritable Hearts.

Cover Art
It's what I do - Addario, Lynsey
Publication Date: 2015
War photographer Lynsey Addario’s memoir It’s What I Do is the story of how the relentless pursuit of truth, in virtually every major theater of war in the twenty-first century, has shaped her life. What she does, with clarity, beauty, and candor, is to document, often in their most extreme moments, the complex lives of others. It’s her work, but it’s much more than that: it’s her singular calling.

Cover Art
Knife - Ritchell, Ross
Publication Date: 2015
It’s hot and getting hotter this summer in Afghanipakiraqistan—the preferred name for the ambiguous stretch of the world where the U.S. Special Forces operate with little outside attention. Team Leader Dutch Shaw is missing his late grandmother. She was the last link he had to civilian life, to any kind of world of innocence. But there’s no time to mourn. After two helicopters in a sister squadron are shot down, Shaw and his team know that they’re going to be spun up and sent back in, deep into insurgent territory, where a mysterious new organization called Al Ayeelaa has been attracting high-value targets from across the region. As Shaw and his men fight their way closer to the source, mission by mission, they begin to realize that their way may have been prepared for them in advance, and not by a welcoming host.

Cover Art
Mightier than the sword (the Clifton Chronicles) - Archer, Jeffrey
Publication Date: 2015
When Harry Clifton visits his publisher in New York, he learns that he has been elected as the new president of English PEN, and immediately launches a campaign for the release of a fellow author, Anatoly Babakov, who's imprisoned in Siberia. Babakov's crime? Writing a book called Uncle Joe, a devastating insight into what it was like to work for Stalin. So determined is Harry to see Babakov released and the book published, that he puts his own life in danger.

Cover Art
Miracle at the Higher Grounds Cafe - Lucado, Max
Publication Date: 2015
Chelsea Chambers is on her own. After a public split from her NFL superstar husband, Chelsea takes a bold step out of the limelight and behind the counter of the Higher Grounds Café, an old-fashioned coffee shop in dire need of reinvention. But when her courage, expert planning, and out-of-this-world cupcakes fail to pay the bills, this newly single mom finds herself desperate for help. Better yet, a miracle.

Cover Art
Misadventures of awkward black girl - Rae, Issa
Publication Date: 2015
My name is “J” and I’m awkward—and black. Someone once told me those were the two worst things anyone could be. That someone was right. Where do I start?
Being an introvert in a world that glorifies cool isn’t easy. But when Issa Rae, the creator of the Shorty Award–winning hit series “The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl,” is that introvert—whether she’s navigating love, work, friendships, or “rapping”—it sure is entertaining. Now, in this debut collection of essays written in her witty and self-deprecating voice, Rae covers everything from cybersexing in the early days of the Internet to deflecting unsolicited comments on weight gain, from navigating the perils of eating out alone and public displays of affection to learning to accept yourself—natural hair and all.

Cover Art
Private Vegas - Patterson, James
Publication Date: 2015
Las Vegas is a city of contradictions: seedy and glamorous, secretive and wild, Vegas attracts people of all kinds--especially those with a secret to hide, or a life to leave behind. It's the perfect location for Lester Olsen's lucrative business. He gets to treat gorgeous, young women to five-star restaurants, splashy shows, and limo rides--and then he teaches them how to kill.

Cover Art
Robert Ludlum's the Geneva strategy - Freveletti, Jamie
Publication Date: 2015
On one evening in Washington, DC, several high-ranking members of government disappear in a mass kidnapping. Among the kidnapped is Nick Rendel, a computer software coding expert in charge of drone programming and strategy. He is the victim with the most dangerous knowledge, including confidential passwords and codes that are used to program the drones. If revealed, his kidnappers could reprogram the drones to strike targets within the United States.

Cover Art
Sealed with a lie - Carlton, Kat
Publication Date: 2015
Kari Andrews thought life was going to get easier. She was wrong. Following the events of Two Lies and a Spy, she and her brother, Charlie, are left to cope with the aftermath while also adapting to a new school—in another country. And then Charlie disappears.
With her brother’s life hanging in the balance, Kari, Evan, Rita, Kale, and some new friends from Generation Interpol (G.I.) are on a race around Europe at the bidding of a voice on a phone. The voice tells them that they need to jailbreak a thief—a flirtatious, hot thief—steal something from a high-security bio lab, and deliver the goods during what’s sure to be a double-cross exchange. Can they succeed before Charlie pays the ultimate price?

Cover Art
Trigger warning - Gaiman, Neil
Publication Date: 2015
Trigger Warning explores the masks we all wear and the people we are beneath them to reveal our vulnerabilities and our truest selves. Here is a rich cornucopia of horror and ghosts stories, science fiction and fairy tales, fabulism and poetry that explore the realm of experience and emotion. In Adventure Story—a thematic companion to The Ocean at the End of the Lane—Gaiman ponders death and the way people take their stories with them when they die. His social media experience A Calendar of Tales are short takes inspired by replies to fan tweets about the months of the year—stories of pirates and the March winds, an igloo made of books, and a Mother’s Day card that portends disturbances in the universe. Gaiman offers his own ingenious spin on Sherlock Holmes in his award-nominated mystery tale The Case of Death and Honey. And Click-Clack the Rattlebag explains the creaks and clatter we hear when we’re all alone in the darkness.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip